League is just about set up

As Bill mentioned, we are very close to setting this league up. I’m crossing my fingers that it will go a little smoother this time around. I have dissolved the original league, because we’re starting this new one.

In other news, the Mrs. is a grade one teacher. She’s back to work this week — school starts for kids tomorrow (Wed). Needless to say, she’s just a tad stressed. Of course, in our city, these teachers do not have a contract and the city is out of money, but we’ll save that for my political rant. In addition to her stress level, my daughter is going to first grade this year (not the same class, of course) and although she’s getting up early all summer, this week she has yet to wake up in the morning before 7 AM. Of course, she won’t go to bed until 10pm, and last night all the kids (2 of them) hopped into bed with us. Funny how that works. Heh. Heh.

*** Political Rants *** (move on if you’re not a fan)

Well, day one of the convention is over. Let’s party like it’s 2001, because this group can’t seem to get their mindset out of it. I really felt bad for John McCain — you could see him talk up there, but the words were just not delivered with the same emotion that I’ve come to expect.

I wil be the first to admit, watching this convention makes me cringe. My local TV station had their own interview with President Bush. The Fox news like bias showed their head as the anchor asked the President about all the ‘personal attacks’ on him. Of course, with that degree in journalism, we forgot all about asking questions about Swift Boats. Whatever.

I have received some email saying when the election is over, what’s going to happen to my rants. Well, one of two things: I will either be really pissed off — but if I am, I hope that a true majority has voted for you know who. Or #2, I will be happy that one guy got laid off as is deservedly so, but I will wonder what the hell will happen with that guy. So either way, I’m still going to be bitchy. Aren’t you excited?

** End of Rant **

About icedcorn

I'm a gamer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to League is just about set up

  1. Anonymous says:

    What’s with your constant whining about the Swift Boat Veterans? Are they not entitled to put forth their message—or is that freedom reserved for Michael Moore and his merry band of Hollywood halfwits? I’m sorry, but when given the choice between some fat-ass, conspiracy freak (who happens to also be a millionaire) or several hundred highly decorated veterans—I’m gonna have to go with the vets. Being from a military family, I confess a bias—but how any American could read Kerry’s own words (Winter Soldier Testimony) and then vote for him is beyond me. Oh, and much of your criticism of W is dead on. So, sadly this election I will not be casting a vote in favor of any candidate—just a vote against Kerry.

    Like

  2. Dan Clarke says:

    Everyone has their opinion. Personally, I can’t believe a thing the Swift Boat Vets said. There is a permanent government record in writing, signed by these same people who are pretty much committed perjury if they are telling the truth now.I haven’t read any of Kerry’s books. Of course, that doesn’t stop Republicans who say, have never seen Farheneit 9/11 and complain about it (this means you John McCain). {For the record I haven’t seen it either})Dont’ get me wrong: I’m not a huge fan of either candidate. But of my choices are a guy who is telling me to run away becuase the terrorists are in my office and I need to be vigilant and a guy who says that we can educate the people better so that when they work in my office they won’t have to pay billions in student loans, I’m picking the guy with the new ideas (the latter one), over the guy who still apparently wishes the Soviet Union was still around.

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Bah these “vets” are Republicans mouthpieces. This Oneill dude is the SAME GUY that was recruited by NIXON to smear Kerry back in the 70s. It’s politics, 100% politics and unlike Moore’s movie, it’s 100% purestarin bullshit. Moore’s movie, although it was a definite opinion, is factually accurate. The facts Moore puts out cannot be argued. The FACTS of the swift boat vets are not only wrong based on official records, but in some cases pure speculation from guys that were never even there. So feel fre to back the “vets” but I’m gonna have to side with the facts and not a bunch people that have a political axe to grind. DJ

    Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    “Moore’s movie, although it was a definite opinion, is factually accurate.”Dear God. Nobody that’s stupid–are they?

    Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    Here. Don’t believe the bias. Facts are facts. Unless the sources are lying, too. http://www.michaelmoore.com/warroom/f911notes/index.php?id=16DJ

    Like

  6. Anonymous says:

    Moore challenged the right wing to prove that anything in that movie was false. So far…crickets are chirping. -dale

    Like

  7. Anonymous says:

    Here’s an excerpt of the uber-Leftist, Christopher Hitchens, writing in the Liberal Slate magazine:“To describe this film as dishonest and demagogic would almost be to promote those terms to the level of respectability. To describe this film as a piece of crap would be to run the risk of a discourse that would never again rise above the excremental. To describe it as an exercise in facile crowd-pleasing would be too obvious. Fahrenheit 9/11 is a sinister exercise in moral frivolity, crudely disguised as an exercise in seriousness. It is also a spectacle of abject political cowardice masking itself as a demonstration of “dissenting” bravery.” Please feel free to read the article in its entirety—in which Hitchens methodically obliterates Moore’s bogus claims. http://slate.msn.com/id/2102723/Now, I of course don’t expect you Moore Kool-aid drinkers to listen to the facts (even when they’re from a fellow Leftist), so we’ll simply have to agree to disagree. And as I stated before: I’m much more comfortable believing hundreds of decorated vets over Moore, Move-On.org and their ilk. Either way, come November, American will decide.

    Like

  8. Anonymous says:

    There’s no end to the hypocrisy on the left is there? For 2 years the derelicts on the left have slandered President Bush in any way imaginable. Moveon.org has shown they have no shame, or compunction for the truth, when criticizing the President. Did Bush ever complain about it, even once? Now you have highly decorated Vietnam veterans, 90 of them with Purple Hearts, 1 of them with a Con. Medal of Honor, and they have no credibility? That’s right, Kerry’s Purple Hearts are the only ones that lend credibility. You people on the left are reaching hysterical levels here. It’s funny to watch actually. You’re voluntarily surrendering whatever tiny bit of credibility you had left. After President Bush wins in Nov. I can’t imagine what you are going to do with yourselves. Get therapy I hope.

    Like

  9. Dan Clarke says:

    Why didn’t Bush complain about it? Because it was true. He never really served, he’s a complete liar. He flip flops “we can win the war on terror”, “we can’t win the war on terror”, etc.This same vets are lying. They are flat out lying. Either they lied when they signed the papers giving Kerry the award, or they are lying now. Either way, if they signed off an a false statement in the US Military, I think we should have a court martial. Give me a guy who lies about a blow job any day over someone who has that shit eating grin and lies about everything. I’ve got your compassionate conservatism right here.

    Like

  10. Anonymous says:

    Dan, Clinton getting a BJ doesn’t necessarily bother me. However, getting hit numerous times by terrorist and having Bubba do nothing does bother me (Khobar Towers, The first World Trade Center bombing, USS Cole, embassies in Kenya and Tanzania, and of course, pulling us out of Somalia.) Especially when some of those killed were my friends. There’s a reason we in the military vote overwhelming Republican.

    Like

Leave a Reply

