Happenings in Toddland

It was a weekend without NCAA at my place, so I’ve had very little new to post (never even got my 360 turned on). So, this is one of those posts for the sake of posting:

– I received a rental of Nintendogs (DS) in the mail on Saturday. I sent it back in the mail today. It’s cute and all, but I have two kids and two cats. I get enough of taking care of little snuggly things as it is. I don’t need to do so in the virtual world. (Next up is that surgery DS game where you get to cut up patients using the stylus. Good times, good times.)

– Prior to Nintendogs I had MarioKart on hand. Fun, but not a great longterm single-player game. (I wouldn’t buy it, but as a rental I got my time and money’s worth.) I get the feeling that multiplayer on it, however, would be a riot.

– CivIV Warlords came out last week. I know it’s getting middling reviews, but I love Civ4 too much not to get this at some point. It’s just a question of when.

– I’ve started two OOTP 2006 franchises using the final Patch #2. One rooted in a modified MLB world (I contracted a few teams and rebooted in 1901 with a full set of minors, using fictional players), and a second completely fictional league (called New World). So far I’ve only gotten to opening day in the MLB league and June in the New World league so I can’t comment on stats. I will say that, as much as it has improved pre-patch, the interface still leaves a lot to be desired, in terms of generating external report data and navigation. I’m well acquainted with using Bookmarks and such, but the game tries to re-invent a Windows/Excel-type interface that doesn’t need reinventing. At times it works, at others it’s very frustrating.

– Who had their money on the Tigers to own the league’s best record in the month of August? Not me, but I sure as hell am enjoying the ride. After taking two of three in their last four series since the break (from Chicago, Oakland, Cleveland and red-hot Minnesota), plus three of four from KC, there’s little doubt that this team is in it for the long haul. This is the first time I’ve cared about baseball in August in a long, long time. I didn’t realize how much I missed scoreboard watching.

– I watched the Cameron Crowe film, Elizabethtown, this weekend. First impressions are always dicey, but this may make into my personal pantheon of all-time favorites. If you like movies like Chasing Amy, Wonder Boys, Grosse Point Blanc, and Garden State, then this one ought to be right up your alley. If I ever plan to kill myself, it’s not going to be the way Orlando Bloom’s character goes about it at the beginning of the flick. That would take some serious juevos. But then, I never lost a company a billion dollars.

– Speaking of Kevin Smith films (Chasing Amy), I got out to see Clerks 2 on Friday afternoon. The first 20 minutes I spent wishing they hadn’t made the flick. It was stiff, and a few jokes aside, it was awful. I mean, really, really bad. Fortuntely, it redeemed itself in the last hour and I ended up enjoying it quite a bit. Four words: “Kelly and the Stud.” (Shudder)

– The Red Wings just announced they signed Hasek (for the third time). What’s old is new again (yet, still very old). But with Yzerman, Shannahan, Hull, and Robitallie gone from the 2002 team, I’m not quite sure the reuinion tour will amount to much. EDIT: Of course, when healthy, Hasek’s stats last year were pretty damn good. Certainly, it was probably the best move GM Ken Holland had available in securing another goalie.

– Happy 35th, Dan!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

