Glen’s fantastic weekend

So, we got about 5 or 6 inches of snow during the day on Friday.  No huge deal, but I couldn’t get my car up the driveway and had to wait for an hour for the plowing service to show up.  Like I said, not a huge deal, but it was a hint to the weekend to come.

Saturday I wake up and I feel like crap.  I’m spitting out stuff that reminds me of the substance from The Blob.  We have a house showing at 10, so I have to get out and shovel our sidewalk and repair our snow fence.  About a month ago, I put up 250 feet of snow fence along our driveway to prevent drifting issues.  Little did I know that the whole damn thing would blow down while I was on vacation.   Remember, a snow fence is meant to prevent drifting snow… so what did I spend all of Saturday morning doing?  Shoveling snow that had all drifted over a broken snow fence!  I can’t even begin to describe the levels of anger that I had over that issue.

So, we get out of the house and pull off of our street just as the people drove up to our house (too close for comfort there) and went for a drive.  I really started feeling like crap while we were out of the house, but I just figured that it was because of the fact that I was out working in the yard all morning.  We got back home about an hour later and my wife went to sleep (she was working on Saturday night.)  I stayed up with the kids and felt worse and worse.   I got the kids to sleep around 7:30 and then recorded the podcast with Dan.  I have no idea how my voice was because I felt like I was gargling with gravel at that point.

Finally I went to bed… and could not sleep.  The youngest woke up at 1:00 for a bottle and diaper change and the oldest woke up an hour later because she had to go to the bathroom.  I laid there for another 5 hours while I felt worse and worse.  Finally I took my temp around 6:00 in the morning and found that I had a 101 temp.  My wife got home around 8:30 to help me with the kids, so I set the Tivo to record the Packer game, got the kids their breakfast, and we all took a nap.  I woke up around 2:30 to find that I still had a temperature of 101 and the Fox signal for the last hour of the Packer game crapped out (not a big deal as the Packers were playing a ton of backups, but I just like to watch the entire game.)  I get a call from work at 4:00 telling me that I have to go into work because one of my servers went down.

I wake up my wife (who at this point only has about 3 hours of sleep after working a 12 hour night shift from the night before) and let her know that I have to go to work.  I take a few cold and sinus pills and head to work.  My fever finally breaks and I get the issues resolved there.   I get back home around 6:30, help my wife finish giving the girls a bath, put them to sleep and turn on what was probably the most boring NFL football game that I have ever seen.   Finally give up on that after half time and head to bed.

Usually I look forward to the weekends… but man… I don’t know how many more of those I can take.  Oh, one of my most entertaining thoughts as I was fixing the snow fence was… “I fucking hate Wisconsin weather.”  Of course my wife and I are talking about moving to St. Paul at some point in the next few years… so I’m just plain stupid.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Glen’s fantastic weekend

  1. msbonik says:

    Well, as a comparasion, when we used to live just to the west of stevens point, my dad and I would put up over a thousand feet of snowfence a year. Our driveway was over a 1/5th of a mile long and our house was in the middle of a bunch of hayfields. the first year we lived out there we actually used the old school wood snow fence. I can’t even describe that experience. Needless to say we switched to the orange plastic fence the next year. we lived at that house for 9 years and every year in mid november we would spend a day putting up that god dam snow fence ( and all the posts). and then taking it down in spring. Oh the memories.. >_<

    Like

  2. Glen says:

    I’m just happy that ours stayed up over New Years. We had some pretty strong wind and it prevented most of the drifting that we’ve seen in years past. I think it might make it for the rest of the year… or until we sell the house.

    Oh, and we have green snow fencing. I’m glad that they have options other than just the blaze orange now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

