Sunday notes

– I stopped by Target today and saw 5 more copies of the Madden Collectors edition for the PS3 for $44.98.  If anyone is still looking for a copy let me know and I’ll try and pick one up.  I actually had one in my cart, but figured I would check to see if anyone wanted one.

– The other funny thing that happened while I was at Target… I picked up a copy of Kane and Lynch for the PS3 (It was $10 bucks, so shoot me) and when the cashier rang it up… I got carded.  I’m roughly double the age that is required to buy a ‘Mature’ video game… so I always find it entertaining when things like that happen.

– I don’t know who this CC guy is, but he seems to pitch pretty well.  All kidding aside, I’m curious as to what all of you think about the one hit that was ruled a single in the game today.  Here’s a link to the video.  I’m too biased to say that it could have been anything other than an error.

I do think this would be one of the first times ever that a team could be awarded a no hitter a few days later.

– So, since the topic of my age has come up… am I just too old for all of the stuff that goes on at PAX every year?  I think it’s a great idea for a gamer convention… but I just couldn’t ever picture going to an event like that.

– One last thing… sounds like the NFL Head Coach patch should be out in the next 2 or 3 weeks.  They haven’t sent it to Sony or Microsoft yet, but they should be doing it soon.  I have to give those guys credit, they’re putting a ton of time, post release, into the game.  This is a game from EA that is worth supporting at this point.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday notes

  1. crgnjul says:

    Glenn I have watched the video of the hit and think it was ruled correctly. Even if he fields in cleanly I think the runner would have beat the throw. I’m sure that’s why the official scorer ruled it a hit.

    Like

  2. MeanOnSunday says:

    Rule of thumb for scorers is that you don’t assume a fielder will make the play bare-handed. Could Sabathia have gotten into a better position to field the ball, sure, but that’s a mental mistake and the rules specifically exclude that as being an error. Truth is, if it had been a bunt no-one would have even suggested it was an error.

    Like

  3. Glen says:

    I think the most disappointing thing for people is that the only hit in the game was a controversial one.

    Still, the guy is a stellar pitcher and is driving the Brewers towards one of their best seasons in history.

    Like

  4. Reese says:

    Glen, I’m a fellow Brew-crew fan and while I’m disappointed that it was ruled an error, I don’t want it to be called a no-hitter retroactively. No-hitters are too special to be legislated into existence. Not only that, but the last four innings of the game were played without the no-hitter “pressure” on either CC or the Pirates lineup, so it would seem a bit cheap to me. Mistakes happen in baseball and while the MIL scorer probably would have given CC the error, I understand the call as it was made in real-time.

    Remember that it was still an error by CC even if it wasn’t a hit. Personally, I have no problem not giving a pitcher a no-hitter when the one-hit in question was the fault of the pitcher himself (it would be a different story if Weeks or someone had screwed him out of it).

    No way MLB reverses this…

    Like

  5. Glen says:

    I only think that it would have been ruled a no-hitter if Corey Hart would have made a totally unnecessary dive for the fly ball that he caught to end the game.

    For those of you unfamiliar with the game… you can see Yount’s dive at the end of the game. I’m sure Dan has a memory of the game… heh.

    http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/baseballs_best/mlb_bb_gamepage.jsp?story_page=bb_87reg_041587_milbal

    Like

Leave a Reply

